Movies and Books
Meet the Characters
Test Yourself

Hogwarts Houses

Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry was founded by four of the most brilliant witches and wizards of their time. It was founded in the 10th century by Godric Gryffindor, Rowena Ravenclaw, Helga Hufflepuff and Salazar Slytherin. Each of them created a house in their names and thus established one of the best schools in the wizarding world. Many of the individuals in each house have similar traits or qualities as the original founders. Young witches and wizards receive their letters to Hogwarts at the mere age of 11 years old. Before beginning their schooling , each student must first be sorted into their correct houses by the magical Sorting Hat.


Gryffindor :

Those in this house are well known for their bravery and courage. Their house animal is the lion and their house colors are scarlet and gold.  Gryffindors never back down from a fight or doing what they believe is right. Some of the most famous gryffindors include Harry Potter and Albus Dumbledore, the most recent headmaster of Hogwarts.



Ravenclaws are extremely focused on intelligence, knowledge and wittiness. Their colors are blue and bronze with a eagle as their emblem.



Hufflepuffs value hardwork and dedication. They are also extremely loyal to their friends and loved ones. Their colors are yellow and black with their animal as a badger.



The last Hogwarts house is Slytherin. Founded by Salazar Slytherin, Slytherins value cunningness and ambition. Many of the witches and wizards of this house became death eaters during the time of Voldemort’s (The Dark Lord) uprising.