Home Types of Gorillas
Fun Facts
Baby Gorillas

Types of Gorilla

There are two species of gorillas in the world- the eastern gorilla and the western gorilla. However, they both contain two subspecies. The eastern gorilla species consists of the Mountain gorilla and the Eastern Lowland gorilla. The western gorilla species consists of the Cross River gorilla and the Western Lowland gorilla. Both species live in tropical and subtropical regions of the African continent. The only differences between these two species are the size of the noise and their sound when they communicate. The eastern gorilla is also often bigger than the western gorilla. What they do have in common is that both species are endangered due to the destruction of their natural habitats.

Cross River Gorilla
Cross River gorillas are scattered across the forests and rain forests of Cameroon and Nigeria, an area about 3,000 square miles. They are about 4 to 5 1/2 feet when standing on two feet and can weigh up to 440 pounds.The region that they live in is heavily populated by humans who clear these forests for timber and create fields for agriculture and livestock. Poaching also occurs in the forests, which contributes to their already small population of 200-300 individuals. They are currently critically endangered. However, WWF is working with others, as well as the governments of Cameroon and Nigeria, to create a protected area for the gorillas that stretch across the border of the two countries.
Mountain Gorilla
The Mountain gorilla lives in forests at elevations from 8,000 to 13,000 feet. They reside in the Virunga Mountains, which border the Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda and Uganda. Like the Cross River gorilla, they are about 4 to 5 1/2 feet when standing and weigh up to 440 pounds. They have thicker and more abundant fur, which helps them stay warm when temperatures drop. As humans move more into the mountains where they reside, the gorillas are forced to move further up into the mountains where the climate is more dangerous and even deadly. They are also critically endangered, and their population is about 880 individuals.
western lowland
Western Lowland Gorilla
The Western Lowland gorilla is the most abundant of all gorilla subspecies. They are found throughout the region from Cameroon to the Republic of Congo. The number of these gorillas is not known because there are some that live deep in the rain forests of Africa, however most live in isolated swamps and in the Republic of Congo. Compared to other subspecies, they are smaller, have brown-grey coats and auburn chests, wider skulls, and smaller ears. However, they also are about 4 to 5 1/2 feet tall and weigh 440 pounds. Due to poaching, the population has decreased its numbers by more than 60% within the last 20-25 years. They are considered critically endangered as well.
teastern lowland
Eastern Lowland Gorilla
The Eastern Lowland gorilla lives in the tropical rain forests of the Democratic Republic of Congo. In the last 50 years, their historical range has decreased from 8,1000 swaure miles to about 5,600 square miles. They only occupy about 13% of their original range, as population declined more than 50% since the mid-1990's. Despite their size, they are also vulnerable to poaching, even in protected areas. Like the other subspecies, they are considered critically endangered. They also are about 4 to 5 1/2 feet tall and weigh 440 pounds. This species of gorilla is the largest of the four subspecies. Unlike the other subspecies, the Eastern Lowland gorilla has a stocky body, large hands, and a short muzzle.

Information from:

Back to top