My Academic Lineage

Name Ph. D. Granted by: Year
Robert Emmett Bradley University of Toronto 1989
Mustafa Agah Akcoglu Brown University 1963
Rafael Van Severen Chacon Syracuse University 1956
Kai Lai Chung Princeton University 1947
John Wilder Tukey [1915-2000] Princeton University 1938
Solomon Lefschetz [1884-1972] Clark University 1911
William Edward Story [1850-1930] University of Leipzig 1875
Christian Felix Klein [1849-1925] University of Bonn 1868
Julius Plücker [1801-1868] University of Marburg 1823
Christian Ludwig Gerling [1788-1864] University of Göttingen 1812
Carl Friedrich Gauss [1777-1855] University of Helmstedt 1799
Johann Friedrich Pfaff [1765-1825] University of Göttingen (no Ph. D)
Abraham Gotthelf Kaestner [1719-1800] University of Leipzig 1739
Christian August Hausen Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg 1713
Johann Christoph Wichmannshausen University of Leipzig 1685
Otto Mencke University of Leipzig 1665

Note that Plücker died in 1868, the same year that Klein defended his thesis. Klein's dissertation examiner was actually Lipschitz, and beginning with him, I can trace my lineage back through a different line of academic advisors and mentors as follows:
Name Ph. D., if applicable
Rudolf Otto Sigismund Lipschitz [1832-1903] University of Berlin, 1853
Gustav Peter Lejeune Dirichlet [1805-1859] University of Cologne (honorary), 1825
Simeon Denis Poisson [1781-1840]
Jean-Baptiste Joseph Fourier [1768-1830]
Joseph Louis Lagrange [1736-1813]
Leonard Euler [1707-1783]
Johann Bernoulli [1667-1748]
Jacob Bernoulli [1654-1705]

Jacob Bernoulli studied theology and philosophy at the University of Basel, not mathematics. Afterwards, he was mentored by a number of mathematicians, including Malebranche, Hudde, Boyle, and Hooke. However, it is fair to say that the Bernoulli brothers founded their own mathematical school (and dynasty), studying Leibniz, Descartes and Galileo in the original, and spreading the word about Leibniz' calculus to the continental European community.

Thanks to Harry Coonce for putting together The Mathematics Genealogy Project. Thanks also to The MacTutor History of Mathematics archive at the University of St. Andrews, for most of the biographical information.